Tactical Medics

The Olancha Cartago Fire Department has five members that operate under a Memorandum of Understanding with the Inyo County Sheriffs Joint Agency S.E.D. (Specialized Enforcement Detail) also known as a S.W.A.T Team. 


These specially trained members are all sworn Peace Officers who's law enforcement authority extends state wide. All of the Tactical Medics must meet and maintain compliance with the Peace Officers Standards of Training (P.O.S.T) and CA Emergency Medical Services Authority (CA EMSA) along with the approved specialty program guidelines established by the Inland Counties Emergency Medical Services Authority (ICEMA)


  • Paramedic with Greater than 5 years field experience
  • California Paramedic Licensure
  • ICEMA Paramedic Accreditation
  • Tactical Combat Casualty Care (TCCC) Instructor
  • Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Instructor
  • Completion of the International School of Tactical Medicine Modules A & B 
  • Critical Care Experience
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS)
  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)
  • Basic Life Support (BLS)
  • Tactical M4 Range Qualification
  • Tactical Shotgun Range Qualification
  • Pistol Range Qualification
  • Completion of the Inyo County Sheriff's selection process